• Danilo M. Yanga National Institute of Physics, University of the Philippines Diliman


The holding of the Eighth National Physics Congress coincided with the Tenth Anniversary Celebration of the founding of Samahang Pisika ng Pilipinas. On this occasion, the Honorable Senator Joey Lina, the Benjamin of the Philippine Senate was with us; he outlined the possible science agenda of the Philippine Senate. The honorable Secretary Ceferino Foliosco of the Department of Science and Technology also graced the occasion by delivering his address on the future master plan on science and technology. Past presidents of the SPP delivered their short remarks including the historical background on the founding of Samahang Pisika ng Pilipinas.
In these momentous events, Filipino physicists were one in echoing the big improvement of physics research in the Philippines. Forty (40) papers on experimental and theoretical physics were delivered in the ensuing scientific sessions. This indeed is a great leap forward considering the fact that ten years ago there was hardly any physics research in the country.




How to Cite

DM Yanga, Preface, Proceedings of the Samahang Pisika ng Pilipinas 8, SPP-1989-F-01 (1989). URL: